Posts Tagged ‘membership marketing’

Can You Really Make Money With a Membership Site?

Sunday, January 31st, 2010

When most marketers decide to start selling information products online, they usually start selling ebooks.

But did you know that you can offer the same information in a slightly different format and actually make more money?

It’s true. And that’s exactly what you’ll start learning how to do when you get our free membership marketing report & video at:

==> http://www.memberspeed.com/go/MMC

Let’s consider for a moment the different ways you can deliver content.

We’ll focus mainly on the online methods, although you certainly can deliver physical products such as books and home study courses and live events such as teleseminars.

Here are the main downloadable options:

* Ebooks and reports. Almost everyone who sells information online offers ebooks and reports.

Usually, these are low-priced ($50 or less) and sometimes free. It’s a great choice for entry-level products to pull people into your sales funnel.

* Audios. Audio interviews and audio ebooks have a slightly higher perceived value.

That means you can take the same information as an ebook, turn it into an audio and charge a higher price.

* Videos. Videos are the next step up, meaning you can take the same information as offered in an ebook or audio, turn it into a video and people will consider it to be worth more.

Naturally, that means you can charge more.

* Membership sites. The perceived value of a membership site largely depends on what you’re offering in the site. For example, an ebook-only membership site is going to have a lower perceived value than a site that includes videos.

Now, you may want to incorporate all four of these products into your sales funnel.

For example: You can use your ebooks as entry-level products, your audios and videos as intermediate products, and your membership sites for your expert-level products.

But here’s another idea…

Just skip all the other products and get people directly into your membership site.

Indeed, you can use your membership site as a sales funnel.

That means you can offer free ‘bronze’ memberships and then upgrade your free members to paid memberships.

If you’ve spent any time studying membership site marketing, then you already know just how profitable it can be.

In fact, I bet you’ve even crunched the numbers before.

For example, if you get just 1000 members paying you $17 a month, you pull in a cool $17,000 every month.

Well – close but not quite.

You’d pull in $17,000 every month only IF you can keep all 100 of those members…

or if you can rapidly replace the members who are constantly quitting the site.

Most marketers can’t do that.

And so their sites eventually just make a couple hundred dollars a month.

You see, that’s because most membership site marketers don’t consider the churn rate (that’s the number of people who’ll drop out of your site every month).

Truth is, most customers who are paying a monthly fee in a recurring membership site cancel after just three, four or maybe five months (if you’re lucky).

And so you need to work hard all year around just to keep your membership numbers up.

Now before you toss out the idea of running a membership site, let me tell you that there is an easier and FAR more profitable way to do it.

And best of all, it’s easy to get members because you don’t even have to sell anything on the front end.

Sound a little too good to be true?

It’s not.

And if you act right now, you can get all the details for free using this link:

==> http://www.memberspeed.com/go/MMC

Go there now to find out how you can triple YOUR membership site profits!

To Your Success!

Warm Regards,
Jeremy & Simon
MemberSpeed Inc

Follow Jeremy on Twitter at:
http://twitter.com/SureFireWealth

Follow Simon on Twitter at:
http://twitter.com/SimonHodgkinson

P.S. And if you haven’t yet started your own membership site, then you need to get your hands on these surprising secrets now!

That way you can make as much money as possible from Day One!

…Just use the link below:
http://www.memberspeed.com/go/MMC

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Freemium Model of Membership Marketing

Wednesday, July 8th, 2009

In this article, we’re going to discuss “membership marketing“, and how it’s almost a requirement for a successful website. If you’re selling anything online, whether it’s ebooks, digital products or anything of that sort, then the membership system we discuss below can deliver those products in the most effective and profitable way.

Business Success Means Avoiding Churn and Increasing Revenue Per Customer.

To be a business success, you’ll need to avoid is customer churn (or “turnover“). If you get 100 new members, but 99 of them quit after 30 days, it’ll be hard for your business to survive. In a membership context, it’s the period of time someone will keep paying their membership fees. So while it’s vitally important to constantly acquire new customers, it’s just as important to maximize the revenue of each customer you already have. So what we’re talking about is the backend, and the marketing funnel you have in place.

With a subscription membership model – where you have a recurring billing system in place – the backend is the recurring fee itself. The issue becomes keeping people as members of your membership sites.

Let’s see examine how this plays out in the context of three popular business models:

Traditional Product Sales

Let’s first consider the traditional Internet marketing (publishing and sales) model, which is used by most online business owners. In this model, you create a product and a sales page, drive traffic to that page, and hope the traffic converts into sales. The average for that conversion rate is somewhere around 1% to 2%.

Assuming you have a $37 product at a 2% conversion rate, it means that for every hundred people you send to that page you’re going to sell two of those products at $37 ($74 total), and you’ll have a visitor value for each of those 100 people of $0.74.

Recurring Membership

The average conversion rate for a recurring membership site is often less than the traditional one product sale model; it’s generally 1% or less. So let’s now assume now that you’re going to charge $17 per month, rather than the original $37 product price point. But we start to encounter churn with monthly billing. In our experience, the average membership stick rate is between three and five months.

So for every 100 visitors, we’ll get one membership sale, and that customer can be expected to stick around for approximately four months. That means you’re going to generate $68 in revenue from that one signup (four x $17 = $68). That gives you an average visitor value of $0.68. When you use the membership model, you can also put backend offers in place. So once you already have a paid member, you can assume additional backend sales and commissions from that member – around $5 per month.

Now you have that one member, and they’re paid the $17 for the first month – will likely do so for about four months – and they’re also worth an additional $5 per month over that same period of time. So now you have $88 from that signup, and the average visitor value for the 100 visitors is $0.88.

Single-Payment Membership

The next structure is a paid membership with a single payment. Your conversion rate will increase because you’re asking people to make less of a commitment, and a membership generally has a higher perceived value than a simple product sale. You can expect a conversion rate of 2.5% to 3%.

Because there is less commitment, you can charge more still keep the conversion rate up. So let’s assume a one-time fee of $37 instead of that $17 recurring. Now your churn goes way down. The customers have already paid, so very few of them will actually terminate their membership. You’d be safe in calculating an average stay of 12 months.

So the calculation is as follows: You’re going to see a 3% conversion rate, and the total one-time fees are going to be 3 x $37 = $111. Factoring in the backend offers ($5 a month per paid member), and over 12 months you’re looking at $180 in backend sales and commissions, for total revenue of $291. This brings your visitor value up to $2.91.

But there’s an alternative model that blows all three of these out of the water when it comes to down to making money for you – the Freemium model.

The Freemium Model.

The Freemium model is basically a free membership with an upgrade offer. It works like this: you put a “free” offer in place on the front end of the site (in a later article we’ll discuss how to make this free offer not appear to be “free” – and why you’ll want to do so), and you’re likely to see a front end conversion rate around 35%.

If you then place a compelling offer on the backend, you’ll see a conversion rate between 5% to 10% on that offer. It’s often much higher, so let’s use 10% for our analysis.

This means that for every 100 visitors – you’re going to get 35 free members, and then a 10% conversion rate on these 35 members on the backend. So what you end up with on average is 31.5 free members and 3.5 paid members.

On your front end that’s 3.5 x $37 = $129.50. The paid member back-end value is $5 x 12 Months x 3.5 People = $210. The free member back-end value is $1.50 x 12 Months x 31.5 People = $567. Adding these amounts and you have $129.50 + $210 + $567 = $906.50, so your average visitor value is $9.06.

That’s a big difference from the more “traditional” models we discussed above (and more than 10 times higher the most common product sale model)!

Here we’ve opened the doors, we hope, for a lot of people to recognize that this Freemium model is a very profitable model.

Click Here to Learn More about the Freemium Model and Marketing Main Event 4

To Your Success!
Jeremy Gislason & Simon Hodgkinson
MemberSpeed INC
MemberSpeed.com

Follow Jeremy on Twitter at:
http://twitter.com/SureFireWealth

Follow Simon on Twitter at:
http://twitter.com/SimonHodgkinson 

Free Marketing Reports that will help you make more money online

CLICK HERE to download ‘Building a Better Mouse Trap”

CLICK HERE to download ‘Atomic Cheese’

CLICK HERE to download ‘Mouse Hunting Made Easy’

CLICK HERE to get on the Marketing Main Event 4 advanced notice list – launching July 14th, 2009

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10 Hot Membership Site Ideas That Will Make Your Profits Soar

Tuesday, May 12th, 2009

Membership sites are one of the most popular and profitable business models nowadays. There are all sorts of membership sites on various niches, but perhaps the most common are those that offer products with private label rights (also known as PLR).

When a product has private label rights, the user usually has more control over them. There may still be restrictions that the original seller may come up with (such as one where the owner cannot resell the private label rights, only the product). But despite such restriction, many PLR products can be modified to any degree; and you can even put your name as the author.

So how can you create a kick-ass PLR membership site? First of all, you need to provide a “complete” turnkey package. Your members want everything to be as easy and as automatic as possible. That means giving them all the products, tools, techniques, and guidance they need; the only thing they have to do is follow the simple instructions in setting everything up and start making money.

Here are 10 useful ideas on what you could offer your members to keep them satisfied:

1) The Main Products. The typical products are reports or ebooks. Audios or videos could be better alternatives, as they have a higher perceived value. You could even make a combination of ebooks, audios, or videos to make these PLR products stand out more.

Before you create them, make sure that these products are high in demand or saleable to the market. That’s why it’s vital to do your research beforehand, so you can give quality products that your members could make a lot of money from.

2) Sales Letter. Most copywriters charge thousands of dollars for one quality sales letter. So providing them with topnotch copy for the products (along with all the other benefits they get), in exchange for the low price of their monthly membership fee, is a great deal.

3) Graphics. The sales letter must be accompanied by eye-catching graphics. I recommend giving them the psd files, so they can make any changes to the graphics themselves. The graphic pack could include the product cover, header, footer, order button and background graphics.

4) Promotional Tools. There are quite a number of tools to help your members promote the products. You could give them articles they could post on their site (or rewrite to post on content-sharing sites); these articles would warm up and pre-sell the main products to prospects. 

You could also research on the most profitable keywords they could use to promote the products via Google adwords or PPC. These keywords may also be inserted in the title and content of articles they will write, so they could rank high in the search engines for these highly searched keywords.

You could also provide them with email promotional messages, banners, classified ads, and sample signature lines so your members could instantly promote the products – or have their affiliates use them for promotion.

Before I go on, be aware that you don’t have to create everything. In fact, you need to outsource them, so you can focus on marketing your membership site.

5) A Step-By-Step Guide. Since some members might not know how to start, they need a guide to show them how to set up and sell these PLR products.

You could create step-by-step instruction guides in pdf; or better yet, create instructional videos on how to choose a domain name, set up a hosting account, upload the files, and start promoting and making money from the products.
 
6) Products With Master Resale Rights. These products are different from the main PLR products. These are products related to the niche of your site, where the owner can transfer the resale rights to their customers, and all succeeding customers get to have the master resale rights. They may resell them as long as they follow the resale rights rules, which may include the minimum price they can sell it for, or a policy where they can’t change the content.

There are many products with master resale rights you can buy and resell on your membership site. Simply type “master resale rights” in Google and take your pick.

7) Research On Affiliate Programs. Aside from the products being offered by your membership site, your members might want to promote other products in the same niche.

So go research on the various Affiliate Programs that are proven to sell well. If they have a 2nd tier link, you could promote the affiliate program using that link so you can get commissions from the sales of your members.

8) Huge Discounts. You can also give your members discount on other merchants’ products as their membership privilege. Simply contact other vendors and ask them to give your members a discount – the bigger, the better. Most will agree, as this means free promotion and permanent exposure for their products. If possible, use your affiliate links for these discounted products so you can earn at the same time.

9) Contests or Draws. Set up a periodic contest or draw. Give cash prizes, free products or even one-on-one coaching to the winner. This could entice members to continue their membership.

10) Interviews. Want to provide more content without breaking the bank? You could interview experts in your niche. Go to http://rtir.com and you’ll find experts whom you could contact for a potential interview. The interview could be recorded and transcribed, and given to members. As for the expert, he or she expert will benefit by promoting their products in the interview.

With these 10 fantastic ideas, I’m fully confident you will attract lots of new members, and your present members will be staying for a long time.

To Your Success!
Jeremy Gislason & Simon Hodgkinson
MemberSpeed INC
MemberSpeed.com

Follow Jeremy on Twitter at:
http://twitter.com/SureFireWealth

Follow Simon on Twitter at:
http://twitter.com/SimonHodgkinson

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